Writing Exercise: Photo Booth

In addition to my other New Year’s resolutions, I resolved to reunite with my writing group. I arrived at the first klatch of the year armed with a prompt inspired by a quote from Wings of Desire:

You get your picture taken in a photo booth, but when the image develops, the face isn’t yours.

Weirdly, in response to an entirely different prompt (“I hope you know that this will go down on your permanent record”), one of the other writers produced this exact story. Well, almost—her character was getting her picture taken at the DMV.

Still, I couldn’t very well use the prompt after hearing her story. It would have looked like I pilfered her idea, and, besides, what would she have written about next?

Anyway, I still think it’s a good story starter. Let me know what comes of it.

2 Comments

Filed under writing exercises

2 responses to “Writing Exercise: Photo Booth

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Writing Exercise: Photo Booth « Mots Justes -- Topsy.com

  2. I like all the layers of your story. The prompt about the photo in the booth not being a picture of the person taking it, then the member of your writing group coming up with the same story so that you couldn’t share your prompt. How funny is that? Real life is stranger than fiction–but I still like writing fiction better.

Leave a Reply

